Mandatory Reporting

As of July 1, 2014, certain professionals must report: abuse, caretaker neglect and exploitation of at-risk adults. An at-risk elder is any person 70 years of age and older. Elder Abuse and Colorado‚Äôs Mandatory Reporting Law (Colorado Adult Protection Services *Section 18-6.5-108, C.R.S. Mandatory reporters are:   
  • Physicians, surgeons, physicians assistants, osteopaths, physicians in training, podiatrists, occupational therapists
  • Medical examines and coroners
  • Registered nurses, licensed practical nurses, and nurse practitioners
  • Hospital and long term care facility personnel engaged in the admission, care or treatment of patients
  • Psychologists and other mental health professionals
  • Social work practitioners
  • Dentists
  • Law enforcement officials and personnel
  • Court appointed guardians and conservators
  • Fire protection personnel
  • Pharmacists
  • Community Center board staff
  • Personnel of banks, savings and loan associations, credit unions, and other lending or financial institutions
  • Caretakers, staff members, employees, volunteers, or consultants for a licensed or certified care facility, agency home, or governing board, including but not limited to home health providers
  • Emergency medical service providers
  • Physical therapists
  • Chiropractors
  • Clergy (pursuant to Section 13-90-109(1)(C),C.R.S.)
If a mandatory reporter knowingly makes a false report or fails to a mistreatment it is a class 3 Misdemeanor. If charged and convicted the person could receive a fine of up to $750, or six months in jail. Or both.

Print